Offical Nebraska Government Webpage
propane pump



 

CLEAN-BURNING MOTOR VEHICLE FUEL REBATES

The Nebraska Unicameral passed Legislative Bill 581, the Nebraska Clean-burning Motor Fuel Development Act, in May, 2015. The Act created The Clean-burning Motor Fuel Development Fund which is to be used by the Nebraska Energy Office to provide rebates on qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel property, to include rebates for the purchase and installation of new equipment to convert motor vehicles to run on a qualified clean-burning fuel; rebates on the portion of the purchase price of a motor vehicle originally equipped to be propelled by a clean-burning motor vehicle fuel, which is attributable to the storage of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel, delivery of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel to the motor vehicle’s engine, and exhaust of gases from the combustion of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel; and rebates on the purchase and installation of new property directly related to the compression and delivery of natural gas from a private home or residence for noncommercial purposes into the fuel tank of a motor vehicle propelled by compressed natural gas.

Conversions will be eligible for a rebate of up to 50 percent of the cost to purchase and install the conversion system/kit, or $4,500.00, whichever is less. Rebates for the portion of the purchase price of a motor vehicle attributable to the cost of the fuel tank, fuel lines, and exhaust system is 50 percent of that cost or $4,500.00, whichever is less. Rebates for the purchase and installation of new property for the dispensing of natural gas is 50 percent of the installed cost or $2,500.00, whichever is less.

Rebates will not be given for conversions, the purchase of vehicles, or the purchase of dispensing property which do not meet guidelines or were made before January 4, 2016.

Applications are processed on a first-come, first served basis until program funds are depleted.

Rebate for Motor Vehicle Fuels Conversion System/Kit
Rebate for Clean-burning Motor Vehicle Purchase
Rebate for Clean-burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Dispensing Property



Motor Vehicle Clean-burning Fuel Conversion System/Kit Rebate

Eligibility

  • Clean-burning motor vehicle fuel is defined as a hydrogen fuel cell, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas.

  • For converting a conventional gasoline or diesel fuel vehicle to be totally propelled by and refueled with a qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel such that it is now a dedicated qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel vehicle.   NOTE: leased vehicles are NOT eligible for a conversion rebate.

  • Consistent with federal vehicle conversion regulations, the conversion system/kit must be approved by the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) under 40 C.F.R. part 85, subpart F, and 40 C.F.R. part 86, subpart S, as such subparts existed on January 1, 2015, for that particular make, model, model year, and engine type and have not been used to modify or retrofit any other motor vehicle propelled by gasoline or diesel fuel. Conversion systems/kits that are not approved by EPA for the subject vehicle are NOT eligible for this program.

  • The converted vehicle must be registered pursuant to Nebraska’s Motor Vehicle Registration Act.

  • The vehicle conversion must be performed in Nebraska by an installer/technician who is an ASE certified gasoline or diesel technician, is certified for high pressure fuel lines and tank inspections, and is certified by the specific conversion system/kit manufacturer.

  • Conversions performed prior to January 4, 2016 are NOT eligible for the rebate program.

  • A motor vehicle will qualify for a rebate if, during its lifetime, the owner or owners have not claimed another rebate or grant for that same motor vehicle under any other state rebate or grant program.

  • Eligible applicants are only legal residents of Nebraska. A legal resident is a Nebraska taxpayer, a Nebraska partnership, a Nebraska chartered corporation, a subdivision of Nebraska government, a person who has maintained a permanent residence and lived in the state for more than six months. Nebraska state government agencies are also eligible applicants.

  • Eligible vehicles are light, medium and heavy-duty vehicles originally designed by the manufacturer to operate lawfully and principally on highways, roads, and streets.

Seven Items You Need to Submit for a Conversion Rebate

  1. A Motor Vehicle Conversion Rebate Application Form.

  2. A copy of the conversion invoice or copies of receipts and invoices for engine components, fuel system, and other relevant items associated with the vehicle conversion. The invoices and receipts should include the name, address and phone number of the certified installer/technician and describe the conversion components being purchased.

  3. Evidence the motor vehicle is registered pursuant to Nebraska’s Motor Vehicle Registration Act.

  4. "Proof of payment." Acceptable forms of "proof of payment" include a copy of a canceled check (front and back) or the customer purchase invoice(s) showing cash, credit card, or other forms of payments.

  5. A copy of the U.S. EPA’s Certificate of Conformity issued by the U.S. EPA's Office of Transportation and Air Quality.   NOTE: Be sure to ask the certified installer or technician or system/kit manufacturer for a copy of the certificate to show that the conversion performed on the vehicle is certified and meets all federal requirements for conversions.

  6. Documentation of Nebraska residency: Completed W-9 form. http://www.neo.ne.gov/cleanfuels/W9.pdf

  7. Completed United States Citizenship Attestation Form (for individuals and sole proprietorships only). http://www.neo.ne.gov/cleanfuels/citizen.pdf
Conversion Rebate Amounts

The rebate amount depends upon the cost of conversion. The program allows for a rebate equivalent to the lesser of 50 percent (50%) of the cost of conversion or $4,500 per vehicle.

Application Submission and Award
  1. Rebate applications are reviewed and processed on a first-come, first-served basis until program funds are depleted. Rebate funds are limited.

  2. Conversions performed prior to January 4, 2016 are NOT eligible.

When Will Rebates be Issued?

Rebate payments will be issued by check approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks after approval, subject to availability of program funds. Rebate awards are limited, subject to funding availability, and are issued on a first-come, first-served basis. Submission of a rebate application does NOT guarantee a rebate award.

Terms and Conditions

  • Rebate application submissions are reviewed and processed on a first-come, first-served basis until program funds are depleted. Rebate qualifications and amounts are subject to change. Rebate funds are limited. Rebate amounts and/or funding guidelines for these rebates may be changed or discontinued at any time without notice. Please bookmark this page for rebate updates.

  • The Nebraska Energy Office reserves the right to verify the applicant’s eligibility for the rebate. NEO is NOT responsible if the certified installer/technician fails to provide accurate information about the amount of a rebate or eligibility.

  • By completing the Vehicle Conversion Rebate application form, the applicant represents and warrants to NEO that the applicant’s vehicle conversion qualifies for the Vehicle Conversion Rebate program in all respects. Including without limitation that neither the applicant, nor to the applicant’s knowledge, anyone else, has previously claimed a rebate for any such conversion system/kit in the subject vehicle during its lifetime. NEO reserves the right to verify all information provided.

  • NEO does NOT sell or manufacture the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel conversion systems/kits that qualify for rebates under the Vehicle Conversion Rebate program, nor does it endorse or recommend any particular conversion system/kit. NEO is not responsible for any decision regarding the selection of conversion systems/kits to qualify for rebates under our Vehicle Conversion Rebate program. NEO THEREFORE DOES NOT MAKE AND HEREBY DISCLAIMS ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE FOR ANY CONVERSION SYSTEM/KIT CHOICE THE APPLICANT MAKES. The applicant is responsible for the full cost and installation, of any qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel conversion system/kit.

  • NEO will NOT install any qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel conversion system/kit into the applicant’s vehicle, nor is NEO responsible for the performance of installation services by the applicant or any third party. If an applicant decides to install a qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel conversion system/kit, NEO encourages its applicants to carefully research and select a qualified certified installer/technician professional to do so. NEO is NOT responsible for any damage caused by (a) poor workmanship, (b) failure to complete projects, or (c) any damage, otherwise. NEO will NOT intervene in disputes between an applicant and their selected contractor. NEO also strongly encourages participating applicants to be sure any installation conforms to all applicable codes, permit requirements and manufacturer installation recommendations and requirements. NEO is NOT responsible for determining whether a conversion system/kit has been installed correctly or safely into the applicant’s vehicle.

  • NEO makes no warranty concerning whether use of a qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel vehicle will accomplish any projected or targeted fuel cost savings. Further, in determining whether to convert an existing vehicle to a qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel, NEO advises its applicants to consider the proximity and availability of retail qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel outlets and stations.

  • Vehicle conversion rebates are available to any legal resident of the state of Nebraska.  NEO encourages each participant to review all program eligibility requirements.

Review and Submit Your Application

Mail completed application along with required documentation to:

Nebraska Energy Office
Clean-burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebate Program
P.O. Box 95085
Lincoln, NE 68509

As a reminder, rebate awards are limited, subject to funding availability, and are issued on a first-come, first-served basis.

Submission of rebate application does NOT guarantee a rebate award.

Please submit questions or comments to the Nebraska Energy Office by e-mail or by calling 402-471-2867.


Clean-burning Motor Vehicle Purchase Rebate Application

Eligibility

  • For the purchase of a qualified clean-burning motor vehicle, such as one using a hydrogen fuel cell, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, or liquefied petroleum gas.  NOTE: Leased vehicles are NOT eligible for a Vehicle Rebate.

  • Motor vehicle means a light, medium, or heavy-duty motor vehicle originally designed by the manufacturer to operate lawfully and principally on highways, roads, and streets.

  • The motor vehicle must be registered pursuant to the Motor Vehicle Registration Act in the State of Nebraska.

  • Purchases made prior to January 4, 2016 are NOT eligible for the rebate program.

  • Eligible applicants are only legal residents of Nebraska. A legal resident is a Nebraska taxpayer, a Nebraska partnership, a Nebraska chartered corporation, a subdivision of Nebraska government, a person who has maintained a permanent residence and lived in the state for more than six months. Nebraska state government agencies are also eligible applicants.

  • Applicants are not eligible for a rebate if the vehicle for which they are seeking a rebate has previously received another rebate or grant under any other Nebraska state rebate or grant program.

  • A vehicle will qualify for only one rebate under the Nebraska Clean-burning Motor Fuel Development Act during its lifetime regardless of ownership.
Six Items You Need to Submit for a Vehicle Rebate

  1. A completed Vehicle Rebate Application form.

  2. A copy of the manufacturer’s MSRP window sticker or other documentation from the dealership that shows the MSRP window sticker information or cost of the equipment to store, deliver, and exhaust the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel on the qualified clean-burning fuel vehicle.

  3. A copy of the purchase invoice or bill of sale documenting the purchase of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle and motor vehicle registration.

  4. "Proof of payment." Acceptable forms of "proof of payment" include a copy of the loan installment contract or a copy of a canceled check (front and back).

  5. Completed W-9 form. http://www.neo.ne.gov/cleanfuels/W9.pdf

  6. Completed United States Citizenship Attestation Form (for individuals and sole propretorships only). http://www.neo.ne.gov/cleanfuels/citizen.pdf

Vehicle Rebate Amounts

For a qualified clean-burning fuel motor vehicle that has a conventional gasoline or diesel make and model counterpart, the amount of the rebate is 50 percent (50%) of the incremental cost of the qualified clean-burning fuel equipment of the qualified clean-burning fuel vehicle detailed on the vehicle’s MSRP versus its conventional counterpart (same make, model, and model year), or the portion of the basis of the motor vehicle that was originally equipped to be propelled by a qualified clean–burning motor vehicle fuel that is attributable to the storage of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel, the delivery of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel to the motor vehicle’s engine, the exhaust of gases from the combustion of the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel, and has been documented by the qualified clean-burning motor fuel vehicle manufacturer or dealership, up to $4,500 per vehicle.

Application Submission and Award

  1. Rebate applications are reviewed and processed on a first-come, first-served basis until program funds are depleted. Rebate funds are limited.

  2. Purchases made prior to January 4, 2016 are NOT eligible.

When Will Rebates be Issued?

Rebate payments will be issued by check approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks after approval, subject to availability of program funds. Rebate awards are limited, subject to funding availability, and are issued on a first-come, first-served basis. Submission of a rebate application does NOT guarantee a rebate award.

Terms and Conditions

  • Rebate application submissions are reviewed and processed on a first-come, first-served basis until program funds are depleted. Rebate qualifications and amounts are subject to change. Rebate funds are limited. Rebate amounts and/or funding guidelines for these rebates may be changed or discontinued at any time without notice. Please bookmark this page for rebate updates.

  • The Nebraska Energy Office (NEO) reserves the right to verify the applicant’s eligibility for the rebate, and is NOT responsible if the manufacturer or dealer/seller fails to provide accurate information about the amount of a rebate or eligibility.

  • By completing the Vehicle Rebate application form, the applicant represents and warrants to NEO that the applicant’s vehicle purchase qualifies for the Vehicle Rebate program in all respects, including without limitation that neither the applicant, nor to the applicant’s knowledge anyone else, has previously claimed a rebate or received a grant from the state for subject vehicle(s). NEO reserves the right to verify all information provided.

  • NEO does not sell or manufacture the vehicles that qualify for rebates under the Vehicle Rebate program, nor does it endorse or recommend any particular vehicle. NEO is NOT responsible for any decision regarding the selection of vehicles to qualify for rebates under our Vehicle Rebate program. The Nebraska Energy Office THEREFORE DOES NOT MAKE AND HEREBY DISCLAIMS ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE FOR ANY VEHICLE THE APPLICANT MAKES. The applicant is responsible for the full cost of the vehicle. NEO will not intervene in disputes between an applicant and their selected seller/dealer.

  • NEO makes no warranty concerning whether use of a qualified clean-burning motor fuel vehicle will accomplish any projected or targeted fuel cost savings. Further, in determining whether to purchase a qualified clean-burning motor fuel vehicle, NEO advises applicants to consider the proximity and availability of retail qualified clean-burning motor fuel outlets and stations.

  • Vehicle Rebates for qualified clean-burning motor fuel vehicles are available to any legal resident of the State of Nebraska.  NEO encourages each participant to review all program eligibility requirements.

Review and Submit Your Application

Mail completed application along with required documentation to:

Nebraska Energy Office
Clean-burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebate Program
P.O. Box 95085
Lincoln, NE 68509

As a reminder, rebate awards are limited, subject to funding availability, and are issued on a first-come, first-served basis.

Submission of rebate application does NOT guarantee a rebate award.

Please submit questions or comments to the Nebraska Energy Office by e-mail or by calling 402-471-2867.


Clean-burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Dispensing Property Rebate

Rebate amount equals 50% of installed cost or $2,500.00, whichever is less.

Installed cost must be supported by copies of final paid invoices showing manufacturer, make, model number, and serial number of property installed and installation costs and copies of documentation showing proof of payment.

Purchases of dispensing property and installations made prior to January 4, 2016 are NOT eligible for a rebate.

Eligible applicants are only legal residents of Nebraska. A legal resident is a Nebraska taxpayer, a Nebraska partnership, a Nebraska chartered corporation, a subdivision of Nebraska government, a person who has maintained a permanent residence and lived in the state for more than six (6) months. Nebraska state government agencies also are eligible applicants.

Applicants are NOT eligible for a rebate if the applicant for the rebate has claimed another rebate or grant for the same dispensing property under any other Nebraska state rebate or grant program.

Completed Clean-burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Dispensing Property Rebate application form.

Completed W-9 form. http://www.neo.ne.gov/cleanfuels/W9.pdf.

Completed United States Citizenship Attestation Form (for individuals and sole propretorships only). http://www.neo.ne.gov/cleanfuels/citizen.pdf

Terms and Conditions

  • Rebate application submissions are reviewed and processed on a first-come, first-served basis until program funds are depleted. Rebate qualifications and amounts are subject to change. Rebate funds are limited. Rebate amounts and/or funding guidelines for these rebates may be changed or discontinued at any time without notice. Please bookmark this page for rebate updates.

  • The Nebraska Energy Office (NEO) reserves the right to verify the applicant’s eligibility for the rebate, and is not responsible if the manufacturer or dealer/seller fails to provide accurate information about the amount of a rebate or eligibility.

  • By completing the New Qualified Clean-burning Motor Fuel Dispensing Property Rebate application form, the applicant represents and warrants to NEO that the applicant’s dispensing property qualifies for the New Qualified Clean-burning Motor Fuel Dispensing Property Rebate program in all respects. NEO reserves the right to verify all information provided.

  • NEO does NOT sell or manufacture the dispensing property that qualifies for rebates under the New Qualified Clean-burning Motor Fuel Dispensing Property Rebate program, nor does it endorse or recommend any particular equipment. NEO is NOT responsible for any decision regarding the selection of property to qualify for rebates under the Rebate program. The Nebraska Energy Office THEREFORE DOES NOT MAKE AND HEREBY DISCLAIMS ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED WARRANTY OF MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE FOR ANY DISPENSING PROPERTY CHOICE THE APPLICANT MAKES. The applicant is responsible for the full cost of the dispensing property. NEO will NOT intervene in disputes between an applicant and their selected seller/dealer/installer.

  • NEO makes no warranty concerning whether use of a qualified clean-burning motor fuel vehicle dispensing property will accomplish any projected or targeted fuel cost savings.

  • NEO encourages each participant to review all program eligibility requirements.

When Will Rebates be Issued?

Rebate payments will be issued by check approximately six (6) to eight (8) weeks after approval, subject to availability of program funds. Rebate awards are limited, subject to funding availability, and are issued on a first-come, first-served basis. Submission of a rebate application does NOT guarantee a rebate award.

Review and Submit Your Application

Mail completed application along with required documentation to:

Nebraska Energy Office
Clean-burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebate Program
P.O. Box 95085
Lincoln, NE 68509

As a reminder, rebate awards are limited, subject to funding availability, and are issued on a first-come, first-served basis.

Submission of rebate application does NOT guarantee a rebate award.

Please submit questions or comments to the Nebraska Energy Office by e-mail or by calling 402-471-2867.

 

  Contact Us      Energy Office Home      Disclaimer      Privacy Policy      Security Policy      Acceptable/Intended Use Policy      Accessibility Policy      State of Nebraska Home      Webmaster